Nelson Ambassadors

Each year Nelson Institute undergraduate students elect students from the undergraduate program to represent their interests and plan events. Elections for the following academic year are held each spring. If you are interested in being involved or, have questions please contact the ambassadors.

Danielle Acker

Email: dacker2@wisc.edu

I first became interested in the environment when I was young and I would go for walks with my dad on trails through the woods surrounding my house in rural Wisconsin. My parents didn’t allow…

Sarah Adler-Rephan

Email: adlerrephan@wisc.edu

My interest in the environment started at age 4 with my first summer canoeing in the boundary waters and exploring superior national forest. Ever since my interest in the environment has grown with my love…

Brittany Cobb

Email: bccobb@wisc.edu

I became interested in the environment at a young age, I was always outside and was very curious about nature. After I graduated high school I joined the U.S. Coast Guard Reserves and one of…

Hanna Deporter

Email: hdeporter@wisc.edu

I am a senior double majoring in Environmental Studies and Conservation Biology. After living in the greenhouse learning community freshman year and taking some environmental studies courses I knew that this would be my path…

Annabelle Eggert

Email: aceggert@wisc.edu

Hey all! I’m a senior studying Environmental Studies, Communication Science, and African American Studies. My passion for studying nature stems all the way back to my childhood, where I spent most of my time camping,…

Kate Faryniarz

Email: faryniarz@wisc.edu

My youthful appreciation for the environment turned into passion for environmental advocacy during my environmental studies FIG that focused on different methods of communicating climate change and influencing public opinion. While learning about the different…

Jordan Hersh

Email: jmhersh@wisc.edu

My name is Jordan Hersh, I am an Environmental Studies and Geography Major. I am graduating in May of 2018. I am very excited to be a Nelson Ambassador this year!

Lauren Jorgensen

Email: ljorgensen3@wisc.edu

I have discovered my passion for sustainable community development across a variety of avenues, and have certainly secured it as a student here at UW – Madison in Environmental Studies. Specifically, I am interested in…

Rita Kawak

Email: kawak@wisc.edu

My interest for the environment arose through my relationship with the Middle East. Through my visits to my family in Syria, I have seen the the global consequences when environmental initiative is not widespread, fast-moving,…

Elisa Koppel

Email: ekoppel@wisc.edu

My name is Elissa Koppel, I’m an Environmental Studies and Sociology major. My academic interests have revolve around food policy and urban planning. I hope to have a career in law or policy that focuses…

Shea Lawrence

Email: slawrence4@wisc.edu

I have always had a love for the environment. Growing up, I loved exploring the outdoors and visiting national and state parks. When I got to UW I had no clue what I wanted to…

August McGinnity-Wake

Email: mcginnitywak@wisc.edu

I always knew I wanted to be involved and politics and major in Political Science. My interest in Environmental Studies came later. In December 2014, I went to see Naomi Klein speak on campus about…

Sanober Mirza

Email: srmirza@wisc.edu

I wasn’t one of those kids who grew up outdoors. I created a relationship with the environment after falling in love with the science behind it. Knowing I would have a science-heavy undergraduate experience, I…

Jenna Mrotek

Email: jmrotek@wisc.edu

Though I’ve always enjoyed the outdoors, I became interested in studying the environment during my senior year of high school, taking AP Environmental Science with one of my favorite, most influential teachers. After being exposed…

Anna Ostermeier

Email: aostermeier@wisc.edu

Anna has been frolicking in Madison’s natural areas since childhood, and now gets credit for it by studying Geography and Environmental Studies. To complement her majors, she is also minoring in Digital Studies, developing her…

Jordan Salinsky

I grew up in the city of Milwaukee, where my experience with the environment was shaped by spending time playing in local parks, sledding in the winter, and taking field trips to nature centers in…

Jonathan Vannucci

Email: jvannucci@wisc.edu

I will be a senior at UW-Madison participating in the La Follette School of Public Affairs’ accelerated Master’s program. My undergraduate studies have been in political geography and environmental studies. I spent much of my…