2022 Year in Review

We’re closing out the year with these 2022 highlights.

January: Former Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies Professor and Director Emeritus Thomas Yuill is recognized by University of Guadalajara for his scientific career and achievement in environmental sciences.
February: “It’s a modern Wisconsin Idea in action.” — Dan Vimont on the release of the Wisconsin Initiative on Climate Change Impacts (WICCI) report. Photo by Finn Ryan
March: “CESP targets historically underrepresented and marginalized students in environmental studies, so I instituted a mentorship component into that program.” — Nelson PhD alumna Vaishnavi Tripuraneni wins a UW–Madison Teaching Assistant Award for Exceptional Service. Photo by Megan Spielbauer
April: “So much of the scholarship around the Great Migration concentrates on families like mine who left the South. I think there’s been insufficient attention on the Black families who stayed.” — Monica White, founding director of Nelson’s Office for Environmental Justice, on winning a Carnegie Fellowship.
May: Professor Grace Bulltail is appointed to serve on the Not Invisible Act Commission, which addresses violent crime within Indian lands and against American Indians and Alaska Natives.
June: Andrea Hicks, who serves as a Nelson Institute affiliate, director of sustainability education and research, Hanson Family Fellow in Sustainability, and associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, is named a 2022–23 Fulbright Scholar.
July: Leaders of UW–Madison and the College of Menominee Nation meet to sign a transfer-student agreement, a partnership facilitated by the Nelson Institute.
August: Jonathan Patz, Nelson professor and John P. Holton Chair in Health and the Environment, makes the national media rounds with a coauthored study showing that climate hazards worsen more than half of infectious diseases. Photo by Jeff  Miller/University Communications
September: Longtime Nelson staff member Jim Miller is honored with the naming of the Jim Miller Graduate Scholarship for Excellence in Water Resources Management (WRM), thanks to the generosity of former WRM program chair Linda Graham.
October: Tracey Holloway, Jeff Rudd and Jeanne Bissell Professor of Energy Analysis and Policy, is elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Photo courtesy of the U.S. Department of Energy
November: In honor of Native American Heritage Month, the Village of Waunakee raises the Ho-Chunk Nation of Wisconsin flag and installs new emblems on a welcome sign — efforts made possible by a partnership with UniverCity Year. Photo by Abigail Becker
December: The Nelson Institute becomes the first UW–Madison entity to win a National Science Foundation S-STEM grant, which will support low-income students interested in combining a STEM major with the sustainability certificate. Photo by Jeff Miller/University Communications
previous arrow
next arrow