Nelson Institute affiliates receive faculty awards

February 21, 2013

Nelson Institute faculty affiliates James Jay Schauer and M. Jake Vander Zanden were among 16 outstanding faculty members recognized at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

James Jay Schauer, a professor of civil and environmental engineering, has been named a winner of the Kellett Mid-Career Award.

The Kellett award, supported by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF), recognizes outstanding mid-career faculty members who are five to 20 years past the first promotion to a tenured position. Each winner, chosen by a Graduate School committee, receives a $60,000 flexible research award.

The award is named for William R. Kellett, a former president of the WARF board of trustees and retired president of Kimberly-Clark Corp.

Schauer studies the use of advanced chemical analysis tools to understand the sources and impacts of air pollutants with a focus on urban air pollution, human health and climate change. He serves as director of the Water Science and Engineering Laboratory and program director for the Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene.

M. Jake Vander Zanden, a professor of zoology, was honored with a Romnes Faculty Fellowship.

The Romnes awards recognize exceptional faculty members who have earned tenure within the last four years. Selected by a Graduate School committee, winners receive an unrestricted $50,000 award for research, supported by WARF.

The award is named for the late H. I. Romnes, former chairman of the board of AT&T and former president of the WARF board of trustees.

Vander Zanden explores the factors that degrade freshwater ecosystems, most recently focusing on the role of aquatic invasive species. While the primary emphasis is the study of Wisconsin’s lakes, he has also worked in places such as Mongolia, Iceland, and Mexico. He maintains an active outreach program, and teaches the popular Limnology and Ecology of Fishes courses.