NASA Satellite

Holloway Presents Talk at Annual AAAS Meeting

As leader of NASA's Health and Air Quality Applied Sciences Team (HAQAST), Prof. Tracey Holloway outlined how bringing satellites to users can improve public health and safety.

Air Pollution

Nemet Paper Chosen One of ERL's 10 Best

Nemet et al (2010). “Implications of incorporating air-quality co-benefits into climate change policymaking” named 1 of 10 Milestone Papers in Environmental Research Letters First Decade.

soybean field in Brazil

Gibbs Paper Chosen One of ERL's 10 Best

Gibbs et al (2008) "Carbon payback times for crop-based biofuel expansion in the tropics: the effects of changing yield and technology" named 1 of 10 Milestone Papers in Environmental Research Letters First Decade.

yahara lakes watershed from above

Kucharik Lab Project Featured in WPT Documentary

Yahara 2070 is a research project that asks what might the Yahara Watershed surrounding Madison look like in the year 2070.

Latest News

April 26, 2017
Prof. Greg Nemet Named 2017 Andrew Carnegie Fellow by the Carnegie Corporation of New York
Greg Nemet is among just 35 distinguished scholars, journalists and authors chosen as Andrew Carnegie Fellows this year from 200 nominees across the country.
read more »

April 14, 2017
Jonathan Pats gives National Academy of Sciences Keynote
Jonathan Patz spoke at the meeting Protecting the Health and Wellbeing of Communities in a Changing Climate in March 2017.
read more »


Latest Publications

2017 · Microbial Ecology
Steady-state oxygen isotope effects of N2O production in Paracoccus denitrificans
AUTHOR(S): Barford, C., J. Montoya, M. Altabet and R. Mitchell

2017 · Environmental Science & Technology
Response of Power Plant Emissions to Ambient Temperature in the Eastern United States
AUTHOR(S): Abel, D., T. Holloway, R. Kladar, P. Meier, D. Ahl, M. Harkey, J. Patz

2017 · Earth System Dynamics
Managing fire risk during drought: the influence of certification and El Niño on fire-driven forest conversion for oil palm in Southeast Asia
AUTHOR(S): Noojipady, P., D.C. Morton, W. Schroeder, K.M Carlson, C. Huang, H. K. Gibbs, D. Burns, N.F. Walker, and S.D. Prince