SEPTEMBER 30, 2015
Wisconsin Idea: Bringing environmental education to rural Ecuador
Before they even left for their study abroad program in Ecuador last spring, UW-Madison students Brenna O’Halloran and Lauren Feierstein had already decided they wanted to stay for the summer as well.

SEPTEMBER 28, 2015
Heat waves hit heat islands hardest
Extreme summers like that of 2012 — which saw record temperatures in cities across the U.S. — may be atypical, but experts say they will return, especially as the planet warms under climate change. And as they do, cities will be especially vulnerable.

SEPTEMBER 23, 2015
A cohort of support: Community Environmental Scholars Program celebrates five years of student and civic impact
Mia McKinney never considered herself a "bees and trees” environmentalist. But after three years of feeling isolated and on her own, McKinney found the Nelson Institute – or rather, the Nelson Institute found her.

SEPTEMBER 18, 2015
UW authors critique community-university partnerships in UNESCO report
A new landmark report on community-university research partnerships from the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) features a critical analysis of practices in the United States from two University of Wisconsin-Madison authors, including a Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies graduate student.

SEPTEMBER 10, 2015
From tenant farmers to landless homeowners, LTC fall lecture and film series explores land tenure
Explore the agrarian roots of apartheid, or Honduran migration related to the U.S. drug war. Mix in a Robert Redford film on the struggles of a small-town bean farmer, then reminisce with a viewing of The Grapes of Wrath.

Holloway named inaugural fellow of AAAS Leshner Leadership Institute
Today the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) announced Tracey Holloway, a professor of environmental studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been named an inaugural Public Engagement Fellow of the Alan I. Leshner Leadership Institute for Public Engagement with Science for 2016-17.