Conference Program

Click on the links below to view speaker PowerPoint presentations. In addition to the PowerPoints, Wisconsin Eye has videotaped several of the sessions, which have been posted below. (Our thanks to Wisconsin Eye for providing this service.)

Time Activity
7:00 AM Registration opens
7:30 AM Continental breakfast
8:30 AM Welcome: Gregg Mitman, Interim Director, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, UW-Madison (video of Morning Plenary Session)
8:35 AM Wisconsin's Energy Future: Challenges and Opportunities: Eric Callisto, Chair, Wisconsin Public Service Commission
8:55 AM Going Green: Will We Get It Right This Time?: Charles Cicchetti, Co-Founder, Pacific Economics Group, former PSC Chair and State Energy Director
9:25 AM Sustainability through Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy: Donald Albinger, Vice President for Renewable Energy Solutions, Johnson Controls, Inc.
10:00 AM Refreshment Break and Networking
10:30 AM Concurrent sessions

  • Designing Sustainable Landscapes through Energy Production, Part 1
    • Moderator: Pete Nowak, Professor of Environmental Studies, Nelson Institute, UW–Madison
    • Chris Kucharik, Assistant Professor, Agronomy and Environmental Studies, UW-Madison
    • Don Wichert, Director, Renewable Energy Program, Focus on Energy
    • David Siebert, Director, Office of Energy and Environmental Analysis, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

  • Federal, Regional and State Energy Policy Development (video)
    • Moderator: Andy Olsen, Senior Policy Advocate, Environmental Law & Policy Center
    • Greg Nemet, Assistant Professor, La Follette School of Public Affairs and Nelson Institute, UW–Madison
    • Representative Spencer Black, Chair, Assembly Committee on Natural Resources
    • Keith Reopelle, Senior Policy Director, Clean Wisconsin
  • Technical Options and Challenges in the Energy Transition
    • Moderator: John Nelson, Adjunct Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, UW-Madison
    • Paul Wilson, Associate Professor, Engineering Physics, UW–Madison
    • Mike Powers, Director of External Affairs and Real Estate Manager, EcoEnergy Wind
    • Mark Kresowik, Corporate Accountability Representative, Sierra Club's National Coal Campaign
    • Flora Flygt, Director of Planning, American Transmission Company
  • Transportation Issues in a Changing Energy Economy
    • Moderator: Jessica Guo, Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, UW-Madison
    • Steve Hiniker, Executive Director, 1000 Friends of Wisconsin
    • Francis Vogel, Executive Director, Wisconsin Clean Cities
    • Mary Willoughby Blanchard, Director of Marketing, Virent Energy Systems, Inc.
Noon Lunch Plenary: (video)

  • Energy and Climate Policy in the UK: Michael Li, Senior Policy Advisor, British Embassy, Washington, D.C.
  • We Conserve at UW-Madison: Faramarz Vakili-Zadeh, Associate Director, UW-Madison Physical Plant
1:15 PM Concurrent Sessions

  • Designing Sustainable Landscapes through Energy Production, Part 2
    • Moderator: Troy Runge, Director, Wisconsin Bioenergy Initiative
    • Gary Radloff, Policy Director, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
    • Paul Meier, Director, UW-Madison Energy Institute and Member, Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center
    • Alan Fish, Associate Vice Chancellor and Director, Facilities Planning & Management, UW-Madison, and Assistant Director, Wisconsin Office of Recovery and Reinvestment
  • Building Capacity for Green Economic Development (video)
    • Moderator: Tracey Holloway, Assistant Professor, Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE), Nelson Institute, UW–Madison
    • Mary Schlaefer, Executive Director, Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation
    • Charles McGinnis, Director, Building Efficiency, Johnson Controls
    • David Jenkins, Director of Market Development and Commercialization, Office of Energy Independence
    • Kim Zuhlke, Vice President of New Energy Resources, Alliant Energy
  • Strategies for Managing Uncertainty and Risk
    • Moderator: Bernard Lesieutre, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, UW-Madison
    • Kris Krause, Vice President-Environmental, We Energies
    • Peter Taglia, Staff Scientist, Clean Wisconsin
    • Susan Stratton, Executive Director, Energy Center of Wisconsin
  • Negawatts and Negatherms: Implementing a New Energy Paradigm
    • Moderator: Wesley Foell, Founder, Resource Management Associates
    • George Edgar, Director of Policy, Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corporation
    • Brian Driscoll, Community Relations Director, Wisconsin Office of Energy Independence
    • Mark Hanson, Director of Sustainable Services, Hoffman, LLC
    • Dan York, Senior Research Associate, American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy
2:45 PM Refreshment Break and Networking
3:15 PM Presentation of UW-Madison Climate Leadership Awards
3:30 PM Wisconsin's Energy Future: Panel Discussion (video)

  • Moderator: Steve Born, Professor Emeritus, Urban and Regional Planning and Environmental Studies, UW-Madison; Former Director, Wisconsin Office of Energy
  • Stephen Johannsen, President, RMT, Inc.
  • Kathleen Falk, Dane County Executive
  • Satya Rhodes-Conway, Senior Associate, Center on Wisconsin Strategy, UW-Madison
  • Barbara Swan, President, Wisconsin Power and Light
4:30 PM Adjourn